UKIP councillor ‘will have to step down’ over arson charge

Malcolm Small

Malcolm Small

A UKIP councillor has said he will have to step down from the Rushmoor Borough Council after pleading guilty to arson.

Councillor Malcolm Small, who represents the West Heath ward, admitted one count of arson when he appeared at Aldershot Magistrates’ Court on Thursday February 20.

He admitted burning items of clothing belonging to Kim Van Opdorp at his home in Brewers Close on February 4.

The case has been adjourned for a pre-sentence, all options report and he will appear for sentencing on March 14 at Basingstoke Magistrates’ Court.

He said: “I enjoy my job but I will have to step down if I go to court and I feel that’s so wrong when I enjoy helping people.”

Cllr Small was elected to the council for a three-year term in May 2012 for West Heath, where UKIP took full control, winning all three seats after fielding four candidates.

Get Hampshire



Leave a comment